[Skip to Content] Privacy Policy
Book Now
^ Back to Top
welcome to THE HEATHMAN HOTEL
Home  >  Hotel Reviews
Felt very welcome!
September 26, 2013,
There was an error made with resrvations in your system, but Michael was very helpful and made us feel very welcom.
Service
Rooms
Quality
Value
Location
Cleanliness
wow
September 12, 2013,
2.0 star rating 6/14/2012 Unfortunately our review isn't very complimentary. Upon arriving there was no space to park for valet so we needed to drive around the block a few times until a space opened. The valet was courteous and professional. The registration/concierge (dual roles) was very efficient and informative. Then..... we got to our room and was shocked! The room was beautiful but extremely small. To move around the bed you had to walk sideways as the customary hotel furniture didn't fit. The layout of the room is choppy, cramped and inconvenient. The bathroom was worse. In order to enter you needed to turn sideways and shut the door as there is a wall column preventing the door from opening past 90 degrees. You couldn't get to the sink with the door open. No kidding.... RV bathrooms are bigger than this bathroom. Little counter space so we had to keep toiletries in our suitcases. The coffee press was nice but the utensils had been used and had dried coffee stains and they forgot to refill the sugar selection. We looked forward to dinner and decided to sit in the lounge where you can order from the dining room menu as well as a smaller lounge menu. I ordered onion soup and wedge blue cheese salad. My husband ordered a mini burger and onion soup. The waitress "forgot" to order my husbands soup so his came 20 minutes after getting the burger. My soup was delicious, although the bowl was filled with cheese (remember the movie "The Blob"?) and little soup. In the morning we were awakened to a phone conversation as if it was happening at the end of our bed! The lady next door was on a conference call and we could hear everything said. Ugh. No privacy whatsoever. We selected this hotel for location and ratings. We are so disappointed as our experience seems out of the ordinary based on other reviews. We have another night at the hotel. Hopefully the next 24 hours will get better 2.0 star rating 9/4/2012 What a terrible check-in experience-- which makes me give this place 2 stars.Otherwise, had the check-in desk woman had some sort of hospitality training, I'd give it 4. Because I booked the hotel off a 2nd?/3rd? party website, there was a mix-up with the room type. Instead of nicely explaining to us the problem, the lady was rude and curt and just not-nice about the whole thing. Then, when we decided to pay for the upgrade, she ASSUMED I didn't want it and gave us the un-upgraded room. (I personally think that she assumed this b/c of our younger-looking age?) When we proceeded back downstairs, she wasn't sorry. She just fixed the room. When we asked her about local attractions, local restaurants, where we were meeting our tour the next day etc, her knowledge of the area was quite poor. She answered our questions like we were bothering her. Interestingly, the following morning, when we were checking out, I overheard a different employee on the phone talking to a customer. Same rudeness, same haughty attitude. If I'm going to pay $$ for a hotel room, I expect a certain level of service. This hotel did not meet my expectations. Positives: comfortable bed, clean, nice turn-down service w/ 2 free bottles of water, convenient location Negatives: small toilet/shower room, rudest person encountered over a 3 day stay in Portland
Service
Rooms
Quality
Value
Location
Cleanliness
The area around the beds near the widow and the op
September 12, 2013,
The room look nice,But the beds are to close to the wall so you have to really squeeze between the wall and the bed to get to the window.This makes the room feel to smaller,and it did not help being next to the place where the ice match is located. if you have to basically sit on the bed to open and close the window and the same can be said about the bed on the other side of the night stand when it comes to the second bed.This wed did go down to let them know about this issue.The front desk people said they they would speak to the manager to see if they could fix the issue,the desk help stated they would call are room after speaking to the manager in about 10 min.They call and stated that the had spoken to the manager and the issue could be could be fixed,just pay for a upgraded room that does not have a that issue,Period.Wow I have not heard a reply like that before,the only words scratch that make that word is,WoW.Finished Staying at the place,it would not meet my definition of a hotel.On the last night I asked it they would switch out the show curtains because we just could not stand the moldy/mildew smell anymore.They did and guess what the the replacement show curtain smelled even WORSE,THAT IS TRULY GROSS.After that I have now switched the star rating from 2 DOWN TO 1 if I could it would be down graded to - 40 star/Negative 40-45,000 STARS. P.S When I addressed the issue about the lack of space between the bed and the walls near the window and the other side of the second bed,the desk person said we call that cozy size.We have had Presidents who have said READ MY LIPS,NO NEW TAKES.Then after they get into office he have given a tax adjustment.Point being call it whatever the POOPY SCOOPY YOU WANT IT ITS WHAT IT IS.Taxes are Taxes and and COZES IS STILL A PRETTY WAY OF SAYING FUGGING SHORT CHANEING YOU ON LIVING SPACE,BUT CHARGING YOU TOP PRICES ANYWAY,BECAUSE?You as the hotel corp office call it cozy so it sounds pretty.That makes it OK.WOW. I would so not recommend this hotel,ever.Thanks for your time and have a great rest of the week and upcoming weekend.You deserve nothing less. Signed:Little Fredster
Service
Rooms
Quality
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Should be more!!!
July 22, 2013,
I have been a chef for close to 40 years. The first time that I ate at the Heathman was 30 years ago. It was memorable as it was my birthday and my friend brought me. I have since eaten there many times. Each time, I hope that I will not be disappointed. My most recent visit compels me to write this review. When we arrived we were greet very courteously. I was disappointed with the menu. There was nothing on it that was very appealing. My friend order the blueberry pancakes and they were very good and more than she could eat. I ordered the sweetbreads and they very good but the sauce they came on was marvelous. I also ordered the chiopino. The vegetables should have been a'dente but were under cooked, the carrots were not fresh but frozen. It was tasty but lacked character. It is truly difficult to mess up good seafood, so that part was very good. The dark chocolate sauce was too salty on my desert. The cream puffs my friend had were excellent. The art of serving people seems to be a lost art as the service was horrible. Our waiter seemed to be training someone new as she followed him like a puppy. We had to wait forever for the food and coffee. I finally just gave up trying to get a second cup. Based on this last visit we will not be back very soon. This is my friends favorite restaurant and I keep hoping it will at least be something that I don't wish to avoid.
Service
Rooms
Quality
Value
Location
Cleanliness
They Steal you blind!
June 21, 2013,
while staying during a cancer treatment I left my ruby ring on the table. It was gone when I came back, They refused to even speak to the maid. I saw the maid and I know she took it. I have not seen it since and every year I post on Craig's list hoping someone has it and will return it to me. and I will continue to post every year until my ring is home where it belongs.
Service
Rooms
Quality
Value
Location
Cleanliness

  1  2  3  4  5  6  7